• Section VI Scholar Athlete Champions:
    2003 - 2004

    Fall Champions
    Section VI had one team that achieved the State Scholar/Athlete Championship for Fall Sports:
    Cattaraugus/ Little Valley Girls Volleyball - State Champion with a team GPA of 96.283
    The Cattaraugus-Little Valley Girls Volleyball team has received the title of Scholar Athlete State Championship. This honor was given to eight team members, who had a combined average of 96.3, the highest of all girls volleyball teams in New York State. The team was recognized at the January 2004 Board of Education Meeting and presented with a certificate and banner to Mr. Joseph Crandall, Athletic Director and Coach Jim Wojdan. The 2003 Varsity Volleyball team members that received this honor include: Emily Clark, Tiffany Perkins, Rachel Rhodes, Heather Smith, Amy Vasconcellos, Rachel Lees, Emily Sinn, and Beth Crandall. CLVCS is very proud of this team for their commitment to the sport and to their academics.
    Winter Champions

    Iroquois Girls Bowling

    Iroquois Boys Bowling

    Iroquois Girls Bowling

    Iroquois Boys Bowling
    Iroquois, as one of only 3 schools in the state in 2002-03, was named a School of Distinction for academic excellence achieved by 100% of its varsity teams. This achievement continues with the honors presented to the Boys and Girls Bowling teams for having the highest academic averages in their sport  for the winter 2004 season.

    Iroquois has now been named a Scholar/Athlete Team State Champion 16 times in the state program's 13-year history. This is the 2nd time the boys bowling team here has won the state banner in 3 years (2001-02), and also the 2nd time a girls bowling team has won the state banner ('95-'96).

    No Section 6 school has won more S/A Team State Championships than Iroquois and not Section in the state has had more State champions than Section 6 (74)!

    The Iroquois Boys Bowling team GPA is the 2nd highest of all previous S/A State Champions for boys bowling and the Girls Bowling team's GPA is 5th highest. The coaches are William Rider and Sharon Pawlowski.
    Hamburg Girls Gymnastics
    Hamburg Girls Gymnastics
    Pictured: (Left to Right) Liz Schappert, Rosalind Konikoff, Jill Fennell, Allysa Jankowski, Lauren Brechtel, Sarah Demmerely, Coach Tim Nyhart
    The Hamburg High School girls' gymnastics team had the highest scholastic average in New York State. The girls' team won the New York State Scholar Athlete Award for the fourth time in five years. The top seven girls had a combined average of 96.4. Rosalind Konikoff had a 98.2 overall average to lead the team. Other averages were: Lauren Brechtel, 97.3; Jill Fennell, 97.0; Kaitlin Landers, 96.5; Sarah Demmereley, 95.6; Liz Schappert, 95.2; and Allysa Jankowski, 95.1.The team is coached by Tim Nyhart.
    Spring Champions
    Section VI had three teams that achieved the State Scholar/Athlete Championship for Spring Sports:
    Hamburg Boys Lacrosse - State Champion with a team GPA of 95.045
    Hamburg Boys Lacrosse
    Pictured: (front row left to right) Coach Van Tine, Kevin McHenry, Mike Metzen, Sean Stamer, Mike Ellwood, Chris Shea, Sam Smolarek, Coach Severino. (back row left to right) Andy Herrmann, Ross Warhol, Anthony Costanzo, Jim Bieter.
    The 2004 New York State Academic Champion, Hamburg boys Lacrosse team had a good year both on the field and in the classroom. On the field they were 12 and 8 and carried themselves well for such a young. The team had only two seniors and started an 8th grader 2 freshmen. The team GPA was an 88.8% for all 25 boys. All but one of the boys who comprised the academic champions will be back in 2005.
    Brocton Golf - State Champion with a team GPA of 97.541
    Brocton Golf TeamPictured: (1st row Holding Banner) Rachel Pinkoski, Joanna Schrader, Kathryn Reynolds, Kayce Wagner (2nd row) co-coaches Joanne Cunningham and Bill Henris, and golfers Steve Travis, Nick Hill, Matt Travis, Jessica Spinuzza, and Liam Eckert.
    The Brocton Golf Team had the distinction of winning the Spring 2004 New York State Public High School Athletic Association, Inc. Scholar/ Athlete Award. The Golf Team was selected as State Champion in Boys Golf by compiling a composite average of 97.541. The Brocton Golf Team earned the right to display the State Championship Banner, which is the first banner to be hung in the new gym. The players were awarded a certificate for their achievement. This is the first time that a team from Brocton has won this award.
    Medina Boys Tennis - State Champion with a team GPA of 98.569
    Compiling a composite average of 98.569, the Medina High Boys Tennis Team has earned the state championship banner for tennis in the NYSPHSAA Scholar Athlete Team Award program. It marks the third time in five years that a Medina team has earned the state championship. The Mustangs lacrosse squad previously earned it twice. In the front row, from left, are Brian Kaiser, Ian Pask, Rory Parker, Dan Wakefield and Coach Chris Horgan. In the middle row are Lauren Barber, Ashlee Dawson, Emily Pollard, Eileen Horgan, Meggan Patterson and Richa Mehta. In the top row are Mark Fuller, Casey Tuohey and Drew Lederhouse. Absent from the photo is Adam Kleinschmidt.
    Schools of Distinction
    NYSPHSAA Announces Williamsville North as the 2003-2004 Scholar-Athlete "School of Distinction" Award Winner.
    Williamsville North
    Pictured: (left to right) Principal Dr. Bill Krone, NYSPHSAA Exec. Director Nina Van Erk, Athlete Lauren Parisi, Will. North AD Steve Ferenczy, Williamsville District AD Jim Rusin, Athlete Chris Grankowski, Supt. Dr. Howard Smith
    The "School of Distinction" award is the highest award handed out in the Scholar-Athlete program and 2003-04 marked its second year of existence. Williamsville North earned the award by having 100% of its varsity sports teams earn above a 90.0% grade point average, thus achieving "School of Distinction" status. Williamsville North sponsors 29 Interscholastic varsity sports and was honored and presented with the award at the Section VI Athletic Council meeting, Wed. Sept. 22 at the Dock at the Bay Restaurant. 

    The purpose of the "School of Distinction" award is to unite varsity coaches in challenging their teams to achieve a statewide honor in addition to the already established Scholar-Athlete Team Award program was initiated in 1991-1992 school year.

    Congratulations to Williamsville North High School!

Last Modified on August 20, 2008