SECTION VI PRE-SEASON REPORT BOWLING 2009-2010 Chairpersons: Girls-John Seeley, Boys- Dan Kaplan

The Sectional Tournament will be held at Thruway Lanes in the latter part of February, 2010. There is some issue over the actual dates due to the Winter Break being scheduled for February 15-19 and the two week gap between the end of Winter Break and the start of the State Competition the weekend of March 5-7, 2010.

It is anticipated that the format for the Section VI Bowling Tournament will use the same format as the previous two seasons. This format does allow for more teams to qualify for the tournament depending on lane availability. The teams that have a .500 record will automatically qualify for the tournament. The remaining teams will be seeded according to their team average. The number of teams in this category that will qualify will be determined by lane availability. The individual league chairpersons in conjunction with the Boys and Girls Section VI Sports Chairs are responsible for making the final decision as to who will qualify.

The same awards procedure for the Section VI Tournament will be used. The first and second place teams in each class (A, B, C, D) will be awarded shields, certificates, and plaques. Each class must have three teams competing at the tournament to receive second place awards.

During the summer of 2009, the Sports Chairs will meet with the Activity Board to update and clarify the bowling standards to be applied to the school teams in Section VI.

During the summer prior to the start of the season a committee made up of representatives from the five leagues and headed by the Sports Chairs will meet to clarify the team format rules and points system used by the various leagues. Unlike the other sports, the five leagues within Section VI (Buffalo, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, ECIC and NFL) do not follow the same format. This inconsistency needs to be addressed so as to avoid problems when preparing for both the Sectional and State Tournaments.

At the time of this pre-season report it is anticipated that the same individuals will represent their respective leagues and committees as in 2008-2009. Voting members are indicated with an asterisk*: Bowling Advisory Committee

	BOYS	GIRLS
Sport Chairs:	Dan Kaplan [*] , Cheektowaga	John Seeley*, W. Seneca East
Buffalo:	Barb Wachowiak	Barb Wachowiak*
	Greg Koeppel*	Greg Koeppel
Chaut 1:	Donna Kubera, Dunkirk	Donna Kubera*
Chaut 2:	Todd Langworthy [*] , Forestville	Todd Langworthy
Catt:	<mark>Gene Jankowski*</mark> , Salamanca	Gene Jankowski*
ECIC 1&4:	Bob Clendening	Jerry Frizzell*, Tonawanda
ECIC 2&3:	Bill Morrissey*	
NFL:	Bill Rohring [*] ,N. Tonawanda	Bill Rohring*

Respectfully submitted,

Dan Kaplan, Boys Chairman John Seeley, Girls Chairman